BATH AND NORTH EAST SOMERSET COUNCIL

MINUTES OF COUNCIL MEETING

Wednesday, 16th September, 2015

Present:- Councillors Patrick Anketell-Jones, Rob Appleyard, Tim Ball, Colin Barrett, Cherry Beath, Jasper Becker, Sarah Bevan, Lisa Brett, Neil Butters, Paul Crossley, Chris Dando, Sally Davis, Michael Evans, Andrew Furse, Ian Gilchrist, Bob Goodman, Alan Hale, Donal Hassett, Deirdre Horstmann, Les Kew, Barry Macrae, Shaun McGall, Robin Moss, Paul Myers, June Player, Joe Rayment, Liz Richardson, Caroline Roberts, Will Sandry, Mark Shelford, Brian Simmons, Peter Turner, David Veale, Karen Walker and Tim Warren

Apologies for absence: Councillors Colin Blackburn, John Bull, Jonathan Carr, Anthony Clarke, Matt Cochrane, Fiona Darey, Matthew Davies, Douglas Deacon, Emma Dixon, Charles Gerrish, Francine Haeberling, Liz Hardman, Steve Hedges, Eleanor Jackson, Steve Jeffries, Marie Longstaff, Paul May, Alison Millar, Michael Norton, Lisa O'Brien, Bryan Organ, Lin Patterson, Christopher Pearce, Vic Pritchard, Nigel Roberts, Dine Romero, Martin Veal, Geoff Ward, Karen Warrington and Chris Watt

50 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Chairman drew attention to the emergency evacuation procedure as set out on the agenda.

51 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL OR FROM THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chairman thanked those who had already sponsored him for the Julian House sponsored walk taking place on 27th September and said he would welcome any further support.

The Chairman extended an offer from the Mayor and Deputy Mayor to anyone who would like to see the Mayor's Parlour following the conclusion of the ceremony.

52 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN & ALDERWOMEN

The Chairman invited Councillor Andy Furse to move a motion to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on Sharon Ball, which was seconded by Councillor Lisa Brett and supported by Councillor Cherry Beath.

The Chairman invited Councillor Tim Warren to move a motion to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Bryan Chalker, which was seconded by Councillor Colin Barrett and supported by Councillor Tim Ball.

The Chairman invited Councillor Tim Ball to move a motion to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Gerry Curran, which was seconded by Councillor Andy Furse and supported by Councillors Tim Warren, Colin Barrett, Cherry Beath and Les Kew. The Chairman invited Councillor Shaun McGall to move a motion to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on David Dixon, which was seconded by Councillor Will Sandry and supported by Councillors Tim Warren, Lisa Brett, Tim Ball and Cherry Beath.

The Chairman invited Councillor Sarah Bevan to move a motion to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on Loraine Morgan-Brinkhurst MBE, which was seconded by Councillor Shaun McGall and supported by Councillor Lew Kew.

The Chairman invited Councillor Tim Warren to move a motion to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Brian Webber, which was seconded by Councillor Les Kew and supported by Councillors Colin Barrett, Cherry Beath and Tim Ball.

The Chairman invited Councillor Paul Crossley to move a motion to posthumously confer the title of Honorary Alderman on David Bellotti, which was seconded by Councillor Rob Appleyard and supported by Councillors Tim Warren, Les Kew, Robin Moss and Alderman Bruce Shearn.

Each former Councillor received a scroll and badge honouring their appointment, signed their names in the official register and addressed the Council. Jo Bellotti accepted the award on behalf of David Bellotti.

Each motion was unanimously approved, thus it was

RESOLVED that the former Councillors listed above should have conferred upon them the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman, in recognition of their eminent and distinguished service to the Council.

The meeting ended at 18:30pm

Chairman

Date Confirmed and Signed

Prepared by Democratic Services